Scattered thoughts from a coffee shop

September 29, 2009

This is something I wrote at a coffee shop a few weeks ago. I’m posting it as-is, rough edges and whatnot.

I’ve consistently said focused blogs are interesting; the general day to day “I had a cheese sandwich” is what brings down many sites–who cares that you had a cheese sandwich? Yet here’s another post that’s not about moving to the country. Either I’m coming around, or I’m a liar.

I’m sitting at a coffee shop and my weak-sauce work laptop can’t join the wireless. Caribou is hardly at fault here, it’s the neat trick my macbook has picked up. When you think about it, $2 for an hour of wifi isn’t too bad. I’ve been driving around looking for parking, wondering what I’m going to DO with myself while I wait for my wife. Too far to go home, too long to call up a friend to hang out (as if anyone’s available midday), too little juice to sit in my car and surf the web (note that the first thing that came to mind was using my pohone and the cell towers to read online–not call someone.) But that’s the thing–I’ve got not book with me, and a general sense of what do I do? Am I that steeped in electronic and instant-on culture that I am at a loss without signal? The majority of people in here have laptops. Overwhelming majority, even. Unexpected.

My coke is lukewarm at best. My phone is at least gettings some power. 30% by 1530 is not great performance. I’m sure for just a few more dollars in a spare I could make it better. That’s nearly always the trick, isn’t it? Just spend a bit and smooth it all out.

Yet another laptop has arrived. He drops his laptop bag and backpack on the table thne heads back outside. Bold. Either that, or there’s a bomb in it. Nope, he’s back. Most students have blackberries and iphones in here. Mobile email has pretty much achieved mass acceptance, it seems.

I remember pretending to study and checking the clock again and again. I don’t miss college particularly much. Lots of being unsure, not wanting to do what i was there for (studying) and feeling bad.

Leave a Reply

