Spring Beginnings

April 6, 2010

We will soon know the thrill of tender green shoots emerging from earthy pods. I planted 10 different variety of seeds this rainy April Tuesday as my sweet baby babbled beside me. Anticipation was murmuring in my mind as I carefully placed each seed in it’s protective wrapper, moist with warm water from the sink. I wonder which will sprout first? The fragrant Basil? The sweet little Columbine, harvested from plants grown at our previous residence? Spring is just around the corner, if not already here, and I can’t wait to get dirt under my nails and start sporting the back-of-the neck sunburn that gardeners dream of in the middle of the frozen winter.

Other seeds that are being primed for the outdoors are a mixture of veggie, herb, and flower: Daisy, Fennel, Lavender, Marigold, Morning Glory, Oregano, Peppers, and Rosemary. Thanks go out to the farmers at Sol’n Tyne Farm for their donation of seeds to our little hobby farm. This year will mark the largest garden in our history (it’s kind of hard to have a large garden when you are right in the middle of residential Minneapolis and you are given a 20′ by 30′ plot of land as your backyard).

As soon as we are clear of the danger of frost (which I am sure is here already, but a little sooner than normal), the plot of land that we have staked out will be tilled, hopefully fertilized, and probably covered in some rich black dirt seeing as how we basically have the soil of your nearest beach. Although I am told that we will probably be able to grow carrots successfully because they won’t get caught up on a clump of dirt. I am already dreaming of the wonderful salads we will eat, the delicious baby food we will process, and the gorgeous bouquets that will grace our table. I know I have a long wait, but just the promise of those things keeps my soul alive and reminds me of the goodness and grace of our Father to give us such wonderful and beautiful things.

Stay tuned for more updates on the progress of growing and cultivating the farm at the Ridge.

Leave a Reply

