Rhizomes

April 7, 2010

While my wonderful husband watched our little bug today, I went out to the road armed with a shovel, a trowel, and a pair of silicone-dipped gloves. I had noticed last summer that for some reason there was a small grouping of iris around the old, wooden fence that marked the southern border of our property. I made a mental note: when I was free of the belly and it was warm enough, I was going to pull them out and put them to better use.

Fast forward to today. Partly sunny, 55 degrees, tools as listed above; I was ready to remove. As I started digging and pulling back the weeds that had grown and died on top of them, there appeared to be more than just a few plants. I continued to find new iris cluster after cluster, some with the largest rhizomes I had ever seen. I sorted them out into two piles: rhizomes with the beginnings of leaves and plain rhizomes. I planted a few of the vigorously growing ones around our mailbox, along with some from the house on Portland. The rest I planted in the area that I like to call my “holding cell”. This space is located along the side of the garage and is currently home to strawberry plants, rhubarb, columbine, asiatic lily, bleeding heart, and grape hyacinth. All of these will find new homes once I clean up and expand the main flower bed in our front yard.

This is the first time I have been outside to work since last fall. It felt great. I was only out for about an hour, but it was just enough time for me to get some dirt under my fingernails (no sunburn yet). There are some iris left by the fence, but maybe I will leave them there. A little beauty in an unexpected place…

Leave a Reply

