Brain Power

April 10, 2010

I do a lot of thinking in the shower in the mornings. I don’t know why, but it seems I can focus then and get a lot of good ideas at the time.

The problem is remembering everything. I’m easily distracted, and it’s strange that it has taken me this many years to really understand that. (OH HEY something shiny!) I told my wife this morning that I think my brain is running out of RAM–I just can’t track everything at once, and tasks slide away. I told her I need a hard drive for my brain. (hey, the analogy makes sense to me. You could argue what I really have is no memory protection, just consistent stack overflows. But I digress.)

I am sort of always trying some kind of to-do system or program or whatever. I have little notebooks with various categories on different pages, and have tried several iPhone apps, and so on. I am continually unable to regularly maintain anything like that; it’s one thing to write everything down, it’s another to actually go back to your list and do things on it. It also seems that once I write something down I don’t remember it as well–it’s like writing it down give me permission to not have to remember it!

Where am I going with this? Well, running a small business and having a baby seems to have exacerbated my issues. I have been more frantic with writing things in various places (envelopes, notebook, etc), but not much progress has been made. Like so many other things in life, I keep hoping that once I find the Right Way to do it, it will all fall into place.

Leave a Reply

